Getting back into the groove…

 

lImage 

Hello All! I’m back from my wonderful trip to Spain and Portugal! It was an awesome trip! I saw so much in the 2 weeks that I was there. I really enjoyed spending time with my mom and trucking around Europe. Being over there gave me a new appreciation for everything that I have in my life. Everything from my house to the food on my table I’m grateful for. I think we take a lot of things for granite here in the US. I will try not to do that anymore. Anyways, one of the great things about my trip was trying the local cuisine. When I travel abroad I love to immerse myself into the culture and try new foods. Going to Spain and Portugal I had no idea what type of food I would be eating. I knew only that the Spanish eat a lot of ham or jamon. Also they eat Tapas which are small plates of appetizers. Sure enough there was a lot of ham and tapas! The Spanish also eat a lot of fish and vegetables. One big difference between us and them is that they eat really late! They wake up early in the morning and have breakfast, then they eat lunch around 1pm which is followed by a 3 hour siesta, and then they eat dinner between 8 and 10 pm. I had to get used to this. I don’t usually eat past 7 at night so to eat this late took some adjusting to. Portuguese food was very tasty as well. They eat a lot of seafood and fish too. One of their specialties is sardines! No matter what I could not bring myself to try them, even though sardines are very good for you. I can’t get past the slimy texture of sardines. I also forgot to mention that Spanish love to drink Sangria. I had never tried it before but I have to say it is very tasty! After 2 weeks of indulging in the local cuisine I’m happy to be back home and get back to my normal groove. 

If you remember from a couple of weeks ago I decided to follow Chris Powell’s Choose More Lose More plan. I’m getting ready to start this plan next week. Over vacation I read the book and got acclimated with the plan. I also have brought my mom on board with me so we both will be doing this together. My mom and I both realized that we both want to look like our old selves again. We’re both tired of having clothes not fit how we want them to or not fit at all. I think it’s very important to have support and give support. This will be challenging for both of us but together we can keep each other accountable. I decided to start this next week because my mom and I are traveling to Iowa this weekend for some family time. There is so much great food back in Iowa that it will be impossible to stick to a diet this weekend, so I thought it’d be better to start next week. I’m really looking forward to starting and seeing results. I’m going to give this my all so I hope it works out! 

Leave a Reply

