Processed Meats…Safe or Deadly?

88_frankfurters

Hello All! So a few days ago I was on Facebook and one of my friends shared an article that really caught my attention. The article is from HolleyHealth.com and is entitled “Processed Meats Declared too Dangerous for Human Consumption”. Now I’ve known for a long time that processed meats were not good for us, but this article confirmed it even further for me. In the article it states that The World Cancer Research fund has reviewed 7,000 studies covering links between cancer and diet. They concluded that processed meats our dangerous to our health and we should stop buying them. Now what exactly are we talking about when we say processed meats? Well processed meats include sausage, bacon, sandwich meat, packaged ham, hot dogs, pepperoni, salami, and even the meat found in frozen dinners. The problem with these processed meats is that they contain 2 very nasty chemicals which are sodium nitrate and monosodium glutamate or MSG. Sodium nitrate is mostly used as a color fixer by the meat companies to make packaged meats too bright red and fresh. The problem is that sodium nitrate is a carcinogenic (linked to promote and cause cancer) ingredient. A study done by the University of Hawaii found that eating processed meats increased the risk of pancreatic cancer by 67%. Another study found it increased the risk of colon cancer by 50%. MSG is no better. MSG is used to enhance flavor in these meats. MSG is linked to neurological disorders, migraines, obesity, Alzheimer’s disese, and many other health conditions. I don’t know about you but I think those are some scary numbers. I would not want to put myself at risk for getting cancer simply by eating processed meats. So what can you do about it? READ LABELS!!! It is so important to read and understand what is in your food. If you don’t know what something is then you probably shouldn’t be eating it. The bigger question that most probably wonder is why is the food industry allowed to put this in our foods? Funny you should ask. Well back in the 1970’s the USDA tried to ban sodium nitrate but the meat industry insisted that it was “safe”. Sadly the food industry is very political and we have very little protections against the chemicals that are being added to our food. My mom and I have had several conversations about how food has changed from when she was a little girl.  For example, McDonald’s hamburgers have changed since they first opened. My mom says she remembers when they first opened which would have been in the early 1960s. She said that the hamburgers were real honest to god hamburgers and they were delicious. Fast forward to today….their hamburgers are disgusting! I wouldn’t eat one if you paid me. I’m convinced that the hamburger isn’t even hamburger it is some animal biproduct. It’s so sad that they were once delicious real hamburgers and now they are massively produced animal biproduct. It makes me sick to think about it. Yet I’m not sorry for feeling this way because I know I’m protecting my health by not eating them. Reading this article has opened my eyes even further to the dangers of processed meats. I’ve never been a big fan really, but now more than ever I will stay far far away from processed meats. If you want to view the article you can go here to find it: http://hollyleehealth.com/2013/04/02/processed-meats-declared-too-dangerous-for-human-consumption/ 

Leave a Reply

